Nintendo Maniac 64
03-04-2011, 07:17 AM
I finally got around to watching AMV Hell 5 and I couldn't help but be reminded of the volume fluctuations... This brings me to a very simple question:

Why was Replay Gain/WaveGain not used?

RBRat3
03-11-2011, 12:51 PM
I didnt notice any but know 9 times out of 10 your player has a volume normalization option. MPC, VLC has them also winamp.

Nintendo Maniac 64
03-11-2011, 09:54 PM
Normalization =! Replay/WaveGain

WhiteSparrow
05-23-2011, 07:58 AM
This is a glaring problem with the S2 Minis too (so long since I watched S1 so forgot how it was in those).
There's already a "Video Quality for Dummies", why not make "Audio Quality for Dummies" thread too? Granted I have little to no experience in the actual editing process but something has to be done about it.

Maybe give some min. requirements for the entries?

humnut
05-23-2011, 10:39 AM
This is a glaring problem with the S2 Minis too (so long since I watched S1 so forgot how it was in those).
There's already a "Video Quality for Dummies", why not make "Audio Quality for Dummies" thread too? Granted I have little to no experience in the actual editing process but something has to be done about it.

Maybe give some min. requirements for the entries?

Audio quality is kind of a bitch to work with when the original audio is ****. I know, it sucks, but sometimes, when you gotta make a specific clip, you go with the best possible audio you can. Upscaling anything can be hard, but I think audio is much harder. And there are requirements, your not allowed to use youtube ripped stuff, I'm sure that goes for both audio and video.

Zarxrax
05-23-2011, 03:10 PM
All videos are normalized. In extreme cases, volume is manually tweaked.
If you know of a way that I can EASILY fit replaygain/wavgain into my workflow[via avisynth, or on avi files], then I will consider it. (I'm not going to manually demux and remux the audio for every video, as thats too much trouble.)

Nintendo Maniac 64